David Archuleta

David Archuleta was born on December 28, 1990 in Miami, Florida to Jeff Archuleta and Lupe Marie. David Archuleta’s family moved to the city of Sandy, Utah, when Archuleta was six. That’s the same age when he started singing inspired by a Les Misérables video. He has since cited his musical influences as Natalie Cole, Stevie Wonder, Kirk Franklin and Bryan Adams. When he listed his top pop music artists, he cited Natasha Bedingfield, Natalie Cole, Celine Dion, Mariah Carey, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Bryan Adams, Kirk Franklin, and Robbie Williams. In 2003, at the age of twelve, David Archuleta sang on several episodes of the television variety show Star Search. At the age of 16 he competed on the television show American Idol. David Archuleta won his ticket to the Hollywood final auditions at the San Diego tryouts at the end of July 2007. He performed John Mayer’s song “Waiting on the World to Change”. In the finale he sang “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me”, “In This Moment” and “Imagine. He ended up losing to David Cook, garnering 44 percent of the vote. In June 2008, Archuleta signed with Jive Records and in August of 2008 released his self titled debut album. The album was certified Gold by the RIAA on January 29, 2009.

Kelly Clarkson

Kelly Brianne Clarkson, known simply as Kelly Clarkson was born on April 24, 1982 in Fort Worth, Texas grew up in the small town of Burleson, Texas. She is the third and youngest child of Jeanne Rose, a first grade teacher, and Stephen Michael Clarkson, a former engineer. When Clarkson was six years old, her parents split up after seventeen years of marriage. She sang at her high school talent show, after which a gentleman shared some inspiring words with her: “God has given you this gift. You’ve got to sing. You’re destined to sing”. She then started her classical training hoping that music would be her ticket to a college scholarship. Upon high school graduation, Clarkson was offered full scholarships to The University of Texas at Austin, University of North Texas, and Berklee but declined them to pursue a music career. Kelly Clarkson entered the television singing competition American Idol. Kelly Clarkson won the first season of American Idol on September 4, 2002, earning 58% of the vote to 42% for Justin Guarini. April 15, 2003 she released her debut album Thankful. The album went on to be certified double platinum, with almost 3 million copies sold. Since then she has released three studio albums, Breakaway in 2004, My December in 2007 and All I Ever Wanted in 2009. Kelly Clarkson has sold over 10.1 million albums in the United States thus far.

Danity Kane

Danity Kane is an all girl group formed in 2005. It was formed on the third installment of MTV’s Making the Band, a television reality series. Danity Kane is comprised of Aubrey O’Day, Wanita “D. Woods” Woodgette, Shannon Bex, Dawn Richard, and Aundrea Fimbres. On August 22, 2006 they released their self titled debut album. It shipped through Bad Boys Records and sold over 90,000 copies in its first day of release and almost a quarter million it’s first week, placing it at number one on the U.S. Billboard 200 albums chart. In early 2007, it was certified platinum for over a million copies shipped domestically. It also spawned the singles “Show Stopper” and “Ride for You”. The song “One Shot” is featured on America’s Next Top Model, Cycle eight’s promotional theme song. In March of 2008, Danity Kane released their second studio album Welcome to the Dollhouse. It became the group’s second consecutive album to debut at number-one on the Billboard 200 chart. It was certified Gold by the RIAA as of April 22, 2008. The band became the first female group in Billboard history to debut their first two albums at the top of the charts. In 2009 it was confirmed to MTV.com that Danity Kane disbanded and is no longer a group.

Fall Out Boy

Fall Out Boy was formed in 2001 in Wilmette, Illinois. The band consists of Patrick Stump on vocals, Joe Trohman on guitar, Pete Wentzon bass and Andy Hurley on drums. Fall Out Boy was formed by Joseph Mark Trohman and Peter Lewis Kingston Wentz. The band was nameless for their first two shows. At the end of their second show, they asked the audience to give them a name. One audience member suggested “Fallout Boy”,a reference to the sidekick of the character Radioactive Man from The Simpsons. In 2003 they released their debut album entitled Fall Out Boy’s Evening Out with Your Girlfriend under the Uprising Records label. Also that year they released their second studio album, Take This to Your Grave. The album went on to become certified gold in the US by the RIAA. In 2005, Fall Out Boy released their breakout album, From Under the Cork Tree. The album spawned three singles from this album: “Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down”, “Dance, Dance” and “A Little Less Sixteen Candles, a Little More “Touch Me”. It has since gone on to be certified double platinum in the U.S. In early 2007 they released their next album, Infinity on High. Infinity on High debuted at number-one on the U.S. Billboard 200,[1] and has since been certified double platinum by the RIAA. Fall Out Boy has since released their fifth album, Folie ŕ Deux which has gone platinum in Australia.